7 February 2019

Further Grand Final qualifiers confirmed

Member associations who have qualified via Curling World Cup rankings are rubber-stamped

Curling World Cup organisers have confirmed the member associations who have qualified for the Grand Final in Beijing via their positions in the ranking points table.

The three leg winners in each discipline in Suzhou, Omaha and Jonkoping (Team Kevin Koe, Team John Shuster and Team Matt Dunstone in the men’s; Team Rachel Homan, Team Satsuki Fujisawa and Team Minji Kim in the women’s; and Laura Walker/Kirk Muyres, Kristian Skaslien/Magnus Nedregotten and Kadriana Sahaidak/Colton Lott in mixed doubles) have already sealed automatic places in May’s season-ending showpiece.

Two further places in each discipline are now taken by the two non leg-winners who finished highest in the Curling World Cup rankings tables.

Sweden finished top of the women's rankings, despite not winning a leg, and have secured a place in Beijing. They amassed 49 points after finishing as runners-up in Suzhou and Jonkoping.

Russia take the other Grand Final place after finishing fifth in the rankings, behind the table-topping Swedes and the respective leg winners Korea, Japan and Canada.

The men’s qualifiers are Sweden and Scotland. Sweden’s Team Niklas Edin reached the finals at Omaha and Jonkoping to finish second in the points table behind Canada. The Scots are the next highest non leg-winners after strong group-stage showings, particularly in legs one and three.

In mixed doubles, Switzerland book their tickets to Beijing after Olympic silver medallists Jenny Perret and Martin Rios reached the Omaha final and narrowly missed out on qualification from the group stage in legs one and three.

United States, for whom Sarah Anderson and Korey Dropkin reached the final in Suzhou, take the other qualifying berth.

The hosts, China, are given an automatic spot in each of the three disciplines at the Grand Final. The member association will decide which teams to put forward.

One Grand Final place in each discipline will go to the respective reigning world champions, which are yet to be decided. Additionally, three ‘special invite’ teams will be invited at the organisers’ discretion. These will be announced shortly.

More News